Sahn Law Firm

What Are The Penalties For A DUI Conviction?

A South Carolina first offense DUI conviction involving a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) between 0.08 percent and 0.10 percent will result in a minimum jail sentence of 48 hours up to a maximum of 30 days, as well as a fine of up to $400, not including court costs. In lieu of the minimum jail sentence, the court may allow you to serve 48 hours of community service. A first offense DUI conviction involving a BAC of between 0.10 percent and 0.16 percent will result in a minimum jail sentence of 72 hours up to a maximum of 30 days, as well as a fine of up to $500, not including court costs. In lieu of the minimum jail sentence, the court may allow you to serve 72 hours of community service. A first offense DUI conviction involving a BAC of 0.16 percent or greater will result in a minimum jail sentence of 30 days up to a maximum of 90 days, as well as a fine of up to $1000, not including court costs. In lieu of the minimum jail sentence the court may allow you to serve 30 days of community service. If you are granted community service, the term of service will be anywhere from two to 30 days, depending on your BAC level at the time of the arrest.

A first offense DUI conviction will also require that the driver attend a state approved alcohol drug safety action program. First time offenders who have a BAC of 0.15 percent or greater will be required to have an interlock ignition device installed in their car for six months. Lastly, a first offense DUI or DUAC conviction will result in a six month driver’s license suspension.

For a second offense DUI conviction in South Carolina, a BAC of 0.08 percent to 0.10 percent will result in a jail sentence of five days up to a maximum of one year, as well as a fine of up to $5100, not including court costs. A second offense DUI conviction involving a BAC of 0.10 percent to 0.16 percent will result in a jail sentence of 30 days up to a maximum of two years, as well as a fine of up to $5500, not including court costs. A second offense DUI involving a BAC of 0.16 percent or greater will result in a jail sentence of 90 days up to a maximum of three years, as well as a fine of up to $6500, not including court costs. Second time offenders are required to have interlock ignition devices installed in their car for two years following any suspension period.

A South Carolina third offense DUI involving a BAC of 0.08 percent to 0.10 percent will result in a jail sentence of 60 days up to a maximum of three years, as well as a fine of up to $6300, not including court costs. A third offense DUI involving a BAC of 0.10 percent to 0.16 percent will result in a jail sentence of 90 days up to a maximum of four years, as well as a fine of up to $7500, not including court costs. A third offense DUI involving a BAC of 0.16 percent or greater will result in a jail sentence of six months up to a maximum of five years, as well as a fine of up to $10,000, not including court costs. Third time offenders will be required to have an ignition interlock device in their car for three years following the suspension period.

A South Carolina fourth DUI conviction is considered a felony, and an associated BAC of 0.08 percent to 0.10 percent will result in a jail sentence of one year up to a maximum of five years. A fourth offense involving a BAC of 0.10 percent to 0.16 percent will result in a jail sentence of two years up to a maximum of six years. A fourth offense involving a BAC of 0.16 percent or greater will result in a jail sentence of three years up to a maximum of seven years. The fine associated with a fourth DUI conviction shall be set by the court and could be as high as $10,000, not including court costs. In addition, a life-long driver’s license revocation will follow a fourth DUI offense conviction.

Are There Any Alternative Programs Available For First Time DUI Offenders In South Carolina?

DUIs in South Carolina are not eligible for any diversionary program such as the alcohol education program or the pre-trial intervention program, even for first time offenders. Because of this harsh state law, it is extremely important that you hire the best DUI defense attorney possible to represent you on your case.

For more information on Penalties For A DUI Conviction, a free initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (843) 856-2222 today.

Sahn Law Firm, located in Charleston, South Carolina, provides representation throughout Charleston, North Charleston, Mount Pleasant, Summerville, Goose Creek, Moncks Corner, Daniel Island, Sullivan's Island, Georgetown, St. George, Hanahan, Santee, Isle of Palms, Folly Beach and Beaufort. The firm also represents people in the municipalities of Charleston County, Dorchester County, Berkeley County, Georgetown County, Clarendon County and Beaufort County.

Office Location

Sahn Law Firm

225 Seven Farms Drive
Suite 105
Charleston, SC 29492

Maps & Directions

Phone: (843) 856-2222
Fax: (843) 971-0991

Sahn law firm