Charleston Marijuana Attorney
The possession of marijuana is currently legal in a lot more states in the United States. There are 11 states that have legalized marijuana for both recreational and medical use, while 33 states have legalized it strictly for medical use. South Carolina, however, is among 17 states where the possession of marijuana is still illegal regardless of whether it’s needed for medical reasons.
Possessing, buying, or selling marijuana in South Carolina can lead to charges and harsh penalties. Even a first-time offense of simple possession carries penalties such as fines and the possibility of spending some time in jail. If you are found to be in possession of marijuana or are charged with simple possession of marijuana, it is prudent to seek the expertise of simple possession of marijuana attorney in Charleston, SC. At Sahn Law Firm – Attorneys at Law, we handle varying cases dealing with charges related to the possession of marijuana in the Charleston area, and we will work hard to defend your rights.
Simple Possession Of Marijuana
Simple possession of marijuana in South Carolina is considered a misdemeanor, and not a felony. In order to be charged with simple possession of marijuana, a person would need to be caught with less than 28 grams or 1 ounce. To be charged with simple possession, an individual does not need to be physically holding the drug. Charges can apply if 28 grams or less of marijuana is found inside the person’s car, house, pocket, or even friend’s house. If convicted of simple possession, the penalties will depend on whether it is a first-time offense. If you are found in possession of marijuana, it is expedient to contact a simple possession of marijuana attorney in Charleston, SC for help.
Simple possession of marijuana charges in South Carolina is usually handled by either a municipal or magistrate court. Possessing 28 grams or less of marijuana for a first-time offense is a misdemeanor that is punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a fine of $100 to $200. With the assistance of a skilled simple possession of marijuana attorney in Charleston, SC, an individual may be eligible to complete a pre-trial intervention program or a program that centers around drug abuse to lessen the penalties if it’s a first-time offense. If the charge is a second-time offense, the charge is still a misdemeanor. However, the penalties increase to a maximum of one year in jail and a fine of $200 to $1,000. A person charged with either a first- or second-time offense may be facing either jail time or a fine, or both.
It is important to note that a person is not automatically guilty or convicted of simple possession of marijuana if he or she is arrested. However, regardless of the severity, even if the charges seem minor, it is wise to seek the legal assistance of simple possession of marijuana attorney in Charleston, SC. Your attorney may be able to get charges reduced or dropped depending on the case.