Assault And Battery
Charged With Assault And Battery In South Carolina?
Being charged with a violent crime in the state of South Carolina is among the most serious legal situations to find yourself in. If you injure another person, it is likely that you will be charged with assault and battery. Likewise, attempting or even causing fear of injury upon another individual can result in an assault and battery charge.
No matter what the nature of your crime may be, you are entitled to legal representation. This ensures that you are treated fairly by prosecutors and that your rights are protected as your case moves towards a resolution. By working with an experienced assault and battery lawyer at Sahn Law Firm, you can be sure that you will have access to the best legal defense available.
Different Degrees Of Assault And Battery
Assault and battery is charged in four degrees depending on the severity of the crime. These include:
- 1st Assault And Battery: When an individual injures another person in a way that could result in severe bodily injury or death. This includes injuries sustained during a kidnapping or robbery. First degree assault and battery also includes non-consensual touching of the genitals with lascivious and lewd intent.
- 2nd Degree Assault And Battery: When an individual injures or attempts to injure another person and causes moderate bodily injury to that person. This also covers the non-consensual touching of genitals both above and below a person’s clothing.
- Aggravated Assault And Battery: Regarded as a lower offense of attempted murder, aggravated assault and battery is defined as grievous bodily harm to another person.
- 3rd Degree Assault And Battery: Also known as Simple Assault, third degree assault and battery occurs when an individual injures or attempts to injure another person unlawfully.
Does A Physical Injury Have To Occur For Charges To Be Pressed?
As with domestic assault charges, there does not have to be a physical injury present for charges to be pressed. An individual can be charged with assault and battery if there was an attempt at injury, or even a fear that an injury could be possible.
What Are The Potential Punishments For An Assault And Battery Conviction?
Penalties for an assault and battery conviction are as follows:
- High And Aggravated Assault And Battery: Up to twenty years in jail.
- 1st Degree Assault And Battery: Up to ten years in jail.
- 2nd Degree Assault And Battery: Up to three years and jail, and a fine up to $2,500.
- 3rd Degree Assault And Battery: Up to thirty days in jail, and a fine up to $500.
Sahn Law Firm: Upholding Your Rights Every Step Of The Way
Being charged with a crime is never easy. Our firm is here to stand with you and provide you with the fierce legal advocacy you need to move forward.
Our firm is pleased to provide our clients with the insight of a former prosecutor. This level of understanding allows us to strategically analyze the best possible steps to take to mitigate the repercussions of your criminal charges.
By working with an assault and battery defense lawyer from Sahn Law Firm, there’s no question that you are gaining access to the best legal services available. To get started with a proactive legal plan to mitigate the repercussions of your criminal charges, please do not hesitate to contact our firm today!